Pro cyclist Salaries and Winnings 2015-2020

Pro cyclist Salaries and winnings amount 2020

How much do Pro cyclists earn yearly? This is the question which is often asked by many people on Celebrityglad specially those who want to join it as a professional career. For this purpose we sorted the complete list of all top class worldwide riders, country wise like USA riders, British, Australian and French cyclists. Before getting started I must mention that cyclist salaries are very less as compared to other sports like NFL, NBA, MLB or soccer and this is one of those topic which is not discussed much. According to die hard fans of cycle racing: “we can’t find any other athletes with as much determination and power like cyclists”.

Base salaries:

ProTour: Minimum base Salary each $50,000 (30 riders maximum)
Pro Continental: minimum salary each $40,000 (25 riders maximum)
Continental: N/A (16 riders max)

Cyclist photo during race and their earning stats
Australian cyclist during race.

Pro cyclist Salaries and winnings amount:

All income stats which are given below is only 2015 yearly winning amount + bonus according to their performance (i.e. except base salary).

Rider winnings amount 2014-2015 / Yearly salary Team
VALVERDE Alejandro $381,000 Movistar Team
CONTADOR Alberto $256,800 Tinkoff – Saxo
KRISTOFF Alexander $251,520 Team Katusha
DEGENKOLB John $223,680 Team Giant – Alpecin
KWIATKOWSKI Michal $210,840 Etixx – Quick Step
GILBERT Philippe $201,240 BMC Racing Team
SAGAN Peter $198,240 Tinkoff – Saxo
DUMOULIN Tom $186,960 Team Giant – Alpecin
NIBALI Vincenzo $186,240 Astana Pro Team
COSTA Rui $168,360 Lampre – Merida
VAN AVERMAET Greg $165,720 BMC Racing Team
FROOME Christopher $165,240 Team Sky
DéMARE Arnaud $163,680 FDJ
QUINTANA Nairo $161,520 Movistar Team
VAN GARDEREN Tejay $159,480 BMC Racing Team
PERAUD Jean-Christophe $155,160 AG2R La Mondiale
GERRANS Simon $153,480 Orica GreenEDGE
MAJKA Rafał $150,240 Tinkoff – Saxo
BARDET Romain $149,760 AG2R La Mondiale
MOLLEMA Bauke $142,560 Trek Factory Racing
MARTIN Tony $142,440 Etixx – Quick Step
EVANS Cadel $142,080 BMC Racing Team
MARTIN Daniel $140,760 Team Cannondale – Garmin
RODRíGUEZ Joaquim $13,680 Team Katusha
BOUHANNI Nacer $134,760 Cofidis, Solutions Cré
CANCELLARA Fabian $134,280 Trek Factory Racing
TERPSTRA Niki $131,640 Etixx – Quick Step
PINOT Thibaut $128,880 FDJ
VAN ASBROECK Tom $128,640 Team LottoNL-Jumbo
ARU Fabio $126,120 Astana Pro Team
GALLOPIN Tony $123,720 Lotto Soudal
CHAVANEL Sylvain $119,400 IAM Cycling
GREIPEL André $119,040 Lotto Soudal
POZZOVIVO Domenico $117,600 AG2R La Mondiale
KITTEL Marcel $117,480 Team Giant – Alpecin
URAN Rigoberto $114,480 Etixx – Quick Step
KELDERMAN Wilco $112,800 Team LottoNL-Jumbo
DENNIS Rohan $109,920 BMC Racing Team
COLBRELLI Sonny $108,600 Bardiani – CSF Pro Team
VANMARCKE Sep $108,240 Team LottoNL-Jumbo
MATTHEWS Michael $107,880 Orica GreenEDGE
MORENO Daniel $107,880 Team Katusha
CAVENDISH Mark $106,320 Etixx – Quick Step
NAVARDAUSKAS Ramunas $104,760 Team Cannondale – Garmin
WELLENS Tim $99,360 Lotto Soudal
MEERSMAN Gianni $94,920 Etixx – Quick Step
THOMAS Geraint $94,920 Team Sky
SWIFT Ben $91,320 Team Sky
BOONEN Tom $90,960 Etixx – Quick Step
REBELLIN Davide $87,720 CCC Sprandi Polkowice
WIGGINS Bradley $87,360 Team Sky
FRANK Mathias $87,240 IAM Cycling
LOBATO Juan José $87,120 Movistar Team
ALBASINI Michael $86,040 Orica GreenEDGE
MACHADO Tiago $83,640 Team Katusha
NIZZOLO Giacomo $83,280 Trek Factory Racing
GAUTIER Cyril $82,320 Team Europcar
VIVIANI Elia $82,200 Team Sky
IMPEY Daryl $80,520 Orica GreenEDGE
MEZGEC Luka $78,840 Team Giant – Alpecin
FARRAR Tyler $77,160 MTN – Qhubeka
COQUARD Bryan $75,960 Team Europcar
SáNCHEZ Samuel $75,720 BMC Racing Team
HESJEDAL Ryder $75,360 Team Cannondale – Garmin
KöNIG Leopold $75,120 Team Sky
SLAGTER Tom-Jelte $75,000 Team Cannondale – Garmin
ROGERS Michael $73,680 Tinkoff – Saxo
YATES Adam $73,440 Orica GreenEDGE
BOS Theo $73,320 MTN – Qhubeka
CARUSO Damiano $73,200 BMC Racing Team
HUTAROVICH Yauheni $72,960 Bretagne – Séché Envi
BARGUIL Warren $72,840 Team Giant – Alpecin
NIEVE Mikel $72,480 Team Sky
FINETTO Mauro $71,880 Southeast
ŠPILAK Simon $70,920 Team Katusha
ROJAS José Joaquín $70,800 Movistar Team
BOLE Grega $70,200 CCC Sprandi Polkowice
ROLLAND Pierre $70,080 Team Europcar
KREUZIGER Roman $69,960 Tinkoff – Saxo
IZAGIRRE Ion $68,040 Movistar Team
ŠTYBAR Zdeněk $67,320 Etixx – Quick Step
TALANSKY Andrew $67,320 Team Cannondale – Garmin
ARREDONDO Julián David $67,080 Trek Factory Racing
SIMON Julien $66,240 Cofidis, Solutions Cré
FORMOLO Davide $66,240 Team Cannondale – Garmin
BETANCUR Carlos $66,000 AG2R La Mondiale
BONIFAZIO Niccolo $65,520 Lampre – Merida
SCHLECK Fränk $64,200 Trek Factory Racing
DRUCKER Jean-Pierre $63,960 BMC Racing Team
CHAVES Johan Esteban $63,960 Orica GreenEDGE
GESCHKE Simon $63,960 Team Giant – Alpecin
CARUSO Giampaolo $63,600 Team Katusha
BRESCHEL Matti $63,600 Tinkoff – Saxo
FUGLSANG Jakob $63,600 Astana Pro Team
VANENDERT Jelle $62,640 Lotto Soudal
PORTE Richie $62,520 Team Sky
DUMOULIN Samuel $61,920 AG2R La Mondiale
VAN GENECHTEN Jonas $60,240 IAM Cycling
DILLIER Silvan $60,120 BMC Racing Team
POORSEYEDIGOLAKHOUR Mirsamad $58,920 Tabriz Petrochemical Team


All income stats which are given below is only 2015 yearly winning amount + bonus

according to their performance (i.e. except base salary).
Rider winnings amount 2014-2015 / Yearly salary Team

Now you know how much pro cyclist make. Although this profession is less paying as compared to other sports but they have determination and enthusiasm to ride many miles. Cycling needs lot of stamina. Cycling federation should work on this situation to increase Payroll.

Related Posts